A Bird Watcher!

I’m not really a great animal lover but I do have a healthy respect for all living beings and believe in a live and let live policy. I must confess that I am rather scared of dogs, although I have conquered this fear to some extent now as compared to when I was much younger. IMG_1978What I really love and enjoy is bird watching. I also think I am fortunate enough to be living in a beautiful place like Chandigarh (India) which is clean and green. The green cover is conductive and encourages the habitat of various bird species in the region. You can easily spot the brown and grey hornbills, parrots, woodpecker, hoopoe, eagles and cuckoo birds.There is a host of other birds like the sweet and swift hummingbird and so many more that I have yet to identify. Pigeons and mynahs love living close to residential areas and are not scared of humans. A lovey dovey pigeon couple has FullSizeRender (2)made a nest near our split air conditioner box (see picture) and the mynah is in the process of making her nest on the neem tree in my yard! The other day there was a full on fight between the parrots who are already nesting on the neem tree and this mynah and her mate. It really had to be seen to be believed. It simply amazes me! My daughter jokes that I’m on the way to becoming an expert on birds and their behaviour. Bird watching sure is therapeutic for me and I love clicking their pictures. Yes, bird watching is rewarding – it makes you pause and ponder and

Mynah bird on my Neem tree
Mynah bird on my Neem tree

appreciate the beautiful artistry of nature. It helps me  to unwind and relax.

The pictures clicked in this post are with the help of my Iphone, which is ‘oh! so convenient’ as compared to a conventional camera. Phoneography is becoming a way of life in today’s times. My husband and I love clicking pictures of birds we spot around our home and on our morning walks in the beautiful gardens of Chandigarh. I would love to add that I really don’t care for a menagerie with animals or birds captive; I

Companionship
Companionship

would rather have them free and in their natural habitat.

Leave a Reply

