Its all in the mind!

We were waiting for the doors to open outside the movie auditorium. It was a crowded hall as a hit movie was being screened and a rather lengthy one, as people waited for the previous show to end. Feeling restless, my ears cocked when I overheard snippets of an interesting conversation between two women.

A strong voice: Hey you look a bit tired and worn out today. what happened? Sorry, but you look so disheveled!

A meek voice: Ya.., actually I slept rather late yesterday as we had guests.

Strong voice: So what , you could have slept till late in the morning. And what about the afternoon siesta?

Meek voice: No, first it was the milk man, and my son had to travel, so I got up to pack his tiffin.Later during the afternoon I was perpetually disturbed by the door bell ringing time and again – first the gardener, then a courier and then …

Strong voice: (Emphatically)But your son’s married right , his wife could have done that for him! On second thoughts, ‘he’ should be able to cook a meal for himself.  And why don’t you change the timings of your staff according to your own suitability?

Meek voice: ( Meekly) Its ok, I really don’t mind.

By now I was really curious to catch a glimpse of the two ladies.I tried but my view was blocked by a tall gentleman.

Strong voice: Neelu, its high time you took the reins of your life in your control! I appreciate your caring attitude for others but what about your own self? Look what you’ve done to your skin!

Neelu: Maybe you are right ,but I’m an old woman now so it doesn’t really matter.But yes your skin is glowing, what have you done?            ( At last she was curious!)

Strong voice: Look Neelu, age is just a number, its actually all in the mind. As for my skin, I apply Olay moisturising lotion religiously.Come to my house I’ll give you a makeover!

Neelu: (Laughing) Haha! You really are a good friend.

By now the cinema gates opened. I managed to take a sneak peak at the two friends. Both seemed to be in their late fifties. Strong voice was dressed traditionally and elegantly,and wore trainer shoes ( sneakers) with her Punjabi suit.I looked at her with a new found respect, as she combined sensibility with practicality and lived life on her own terms.Then I looked at Neelu. She was pretty, but could definitely have looked better. But now she looked happy and was smiling.Good friends are like tonic!

Neelu: …..my husband is sure going to be pleased!

(was the last snippet of conversation I overheard as we entered the hall)

One thought on “Its all in the mind!”

Leave a Reply

